Do you get up early to discover the moment light begins? 

Brahmamuhurta is the time of the day when the early hours begins, it's the magical and empowering hours which are the best time for meditation as you are fresh, open and receptive. According to the Ayurvedic terms this moment are thought to be sattvic, meaning it's balanced and harmonious

So even if it can be really hard to get up before the sunrise…it's well worth a try! Who knows, maybe it becomes a wonderful experience and a new habit where you can cultivate new good things for yourself. 

When you open up your consciousness, great things begins to happen


The list of mudras, hand gestures, is endless and there are many different variations to them as well. Here we introduce you some of the most common ones, which you might have practiced in a yoga or meditation class.


Anjali mudra is the hand gesture that evokes greeting another being with the utmost respect and adoration for the Divine in all. This mudra can be expressed with palms at the heart level or at the forehead, as a prayer coming from one's heart or the third eye. Only with the heart or with a deeper spiritual insight (third eye) can one truly see that we are all expressions of the same light. Fingers can be together or separated.


Chin mudra is the gesture of knowledge and human consciousness. Practicing this mudra is believed to help instill wisdom and spiritual enlightenment. It is one of the most commonly used gestures with those who meditate or practice yoga regularly.


Dhyana is the hand gesture that promotes the energy of meditation, deep contemplation and unity with higher energy. The circling of energy created by the triangle formed by hands also promotes a cleansing of any impurities on an etheric level. Just by looking at this Buddha hand gesture one can connect to the energy of deep peace and serenity. 


Kalesvara Mudra is dedicated to the lord of time. Kalesvara Mudra helps us by clearing conflicting thoughts and making us calmer. It helps us in contemplating and observing our character, addictions and behavior over time, opening the door for change. Kalesvara Mudra can be practiced by anyone desiring change.


Uttarabodhi mudra helps you to cultivate oneness as opposed to feeling separate from everything else in your world. Practice this mudra to remind yourself that strength is gained from becoming one with others.


The Yoni mudra can be described as a gesture that allows a person to get detached from the chaos of the outer existing world. Yoni means uterus or womb and this gesture is named the Yoni Mudra, because the person who practices it regularly has no external contact with the world, pretty much like a baby in the uterus. This mudra helps to relieve stress and to attain spiritual calmness and mental development. (In the picture the triangle points upwards, but in the practice the peak points downwards)


mudra mosaik.jpg



Now it´s time for the rest of the journey through the 8 limbs of yoga. This time the concentration lies in the senses, the mind and the higher state of consciousness. If the first four limbs were Hatha Yoga then the last four steps make part of Raja Yoga.

5. Pratyahara – Withdrawal of senses

It means that we consciously draw our awareness out from the external world and direct our attention into ourselves. It´s the state where we get away from outside distractions and we can then turn our gaze internally. We are in the world but not of it. Pratyahara often happens almost automatically when meditating, because when the mind is deeply focused the senses follow.

Patanjali says that this process is at the root of human unhappiness and uneasiness. This is because we ourselves create much of our emotional imbalance when letting senses become our masters instead of keeping them under control. 

6. Dharana – Concentration

Here we need to deal with distractions of the mind itself, which indeed can be a tricky task. In this practice we try to slow down our thinking process and focus our attention on any selected point or object. This object of concentration can be located inside or outside the body – for example one of the energy centers in the body, an image or a repeated sound. This should help us to still the mind. The objective is to achieve the mental state where the mind, intellect and ego are all restrained, therefore there is no feeling of “I” or “mine”.

7. Dhyana – Meditation

This seventh step means uninterrupted flow of concentration. The mind is quiet and produces few or no thoughts at all. The difference between concentration and meditation is that there is no focus point here. It is perfect contemplation. As the veils are lifted, the mind becomes clearer and unhappiness and fear vanishes. At this state of freedom we have reached the goal of yoga.

8. Samadhi – Union with the Divine

Samadhi is the final stage of yoga - enlightenment. The meaning is “to bring together, to merge”, therefore it is the experience of bliss and being at one with the Universe. At this state the whole of mind has become one wave and it doesn´t distinguish between self and non-self.  In Samadhi only one of the meaning of thought is present and we go beyond consciousness. For many people it sounds surreal and only few can reach this point, but it´s more like a goal and desire, such as all human beings aspire peace. Only with constant practice and devotion you can reach the top - Once dharana has occurred, dhyana and Samadhi can follow.

It´s promised that following all these eight steps leads to the attainment of physical, ethical, emotional and spiritual health. These steps are challenging and it´s good to remember that they are general rules. Each of us in our own lives can only do our best. Yoga doesn´t try to change the individual, but it allows the natural state of total health and integration in each of us to become a reality.